A Terrifying To Do List

The Countdown has begun! I have eight full days left until I go back to school and have some stuff I want to do before I go–which is a tad concerning, because I’m terrible at getting things done when I’m not being forced to do them. But, I know if I don’t do any of this stuff I’ll feel guilty and angry at myself. So, this next week I want to do these things:

  • Finish re-reading The Catcher in the Rye
  • Finish making the bracelets I was going to donate to the fundraising cause for my university’s production costs of putting on The Vagina Monologues
  • get a haircut
  • and a flu shot so Mom stops freaking out about the remote possibility of me contracting pneumonia
  • spend time with my grandparents
  • Buy another book about feminism
  • spend as much time as I can with my man (but that’s more of a given than anything else)
  • finally get around to returning my ex’s Christmas present
  • return the denim shirt
  • do laundry
  • refill my shampoo bottle for school
  • pack up all my crap for school
  • order my books for classes
  • re-print the receipt for my cousin’s christmas present

This whole list makes me nervous. There’s so much to do that I forgot about… And most of it is stuff that I hate doing, like returning things and doing things that are time-sensitive. I’d make a terrible business person…following through isn’t such a strong point for me. Unless it’s a really cool idea, but let’s face it most ideas are hard work and that doesn’t work with my laziness. Aww geez….now I’m really anxious. It’s like my idea to ride my bike around campus. I never brought it school, learned the different gears, or learned how to ride it without running into things and then falling off. So it has remained untouched in our shed.

So I have made this list, and hope to cross things off everyday. I’m thinking if I blog about it and hold myself accountable for my non-actions than I will be more motivated. So far it just makes me stressed, but I’m off to a good start because tomorrow morning I have a hair appointment and plan to get my flu shot afterwords. Maybe I’ll surprise myself and get all this stuff done…

Yeah, maybe.

ahh-procrastination-_1 Procrastination-resized-600.jpg

(Also, I haven’t listened to any song that really stands out while writing this time–do you ever have those moods where everything you listen to just washes over you blankly?)

About diagnosemylife

Okay, if I can't keep all this stuff about my life in my head, how do you expect me to shove it in this little box?

Posted on 01/10/2014, in This Whole "Life" Thing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

