Sophomore Year & Positive Thinking

slideA

More than ever, I feel control in my life. Happiness seems to surprise me in every new situation I’m faced with, and even when I am disappointed I am pushing through it easily. Why this year is so drastically different from the last I attribute to one thing: a positive attitude. Now I know that sounds like a bunch of inspirational bullcrap, but honestly it is working for me. I am cutting myself slack but am also keeping myself responsible for my mistakes. I am trying new things and keeping an open mind. I am waking up each morning with something to look forward to.

Recently I had my twentieth birthday and it was the best I’ve had since I was a kid. My boyfriend took off a whole weekend of work and came to visit me at college. We spent the whole time together, taking walks, getting dessert, snuggling, watching movies, having a romantic dinner and a romantic picnic, looking at the stars. He even had roses sent to me Friday at work! Every moment I just kept falling in love with him more and more… He shows me the kind of love that makes you believe in the world. The kind of love that if you know it exists, you also know miracles of some kind must happen, that people out there are capable of selflessness and healing and peace. It is the best gift I have ever gotten, and I pray to God or Budda or the universe (whoever may be listening) that it is one I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

With all of that being said, I have had my share of stress these past weeks. I had three exams in two days, with another the week before! I was so stressed, and missed my boyfriend terribly. I was constantly studying and hadn’t seen him in three weeks, so it seemed that all my energy was spent cramming my head and ignoring my heart. But I pushed through; I remembered that all I could do was to try my best, and that this moment would pass soon. And it did; I got three A’s and one B+! And do you know what I did then? I went for a run. I went running twice last week, and though it left me sore for days, and doesn’t sound like much of an accomplishment at all, I felt great! I was so proud of myself! I haven’t ran this week, but I’m going to try to make it happen next. Baby steps…

I’ve also signed up for a few volunteer programs that I’m waiting to hear back from. I really want to put some of this positivity back into the world, not to mention it’ll look good on my resume! Me and my roommate are also volunteering for some events happening in my dorm, including trying to start a Long Distance Relationship Support Group! The first meeting was disappointing, because only one person showed up (a friend of ours), but I want to keep trying. There’s no use in trying if you’re going to give up.

As for things I’m looking forward to, this weekend me and some friends from high school are going on a camping trip! It will be the first time we have camped together, and it will almost be a mini-road trip because the camp grounds are two hours away from home. We plan to just kick back, relax, do a little partying, and catch up with each other’s lives…I’m so excited! It will be a nice weekend adventure we can look back on in years to come. 🙂

Being positive like this makes me so grateful for everyone and everything I have in my life. It’s not perfect or anything, but it doesn’t need to be. Happiness and perfection are far from the same thing–in fact, happiness is often making the best out of less-than-perfect situations. Only then do you see that most of the bad things in life are opportunities in disguise.

About diagnosemylife

Okay, if I can't keep all this stuff about my life in my head, how do you expect me to shove it in this little box?

Posted on 10/02/2014, in This Whole "Life" Thing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

